Hidden in a verdant valley 13 km northeast of Dilijan, Haghartsin (‘Dance of the Eagles’) was built between the 10th and 13th centuries.
Haghartsin is a beautiful monastery complex tucked into the folds of a lushly forested mountain near Dilijan. It has three churches (St. Astvatsatsin Church, St. Gregory Church, St. Grigor Church), two gavits (one in ruins), a refectory, a group of chapels and several khachkars. The principal church Surb Astvatsatsin was built in 1281 as a cupola structure with a tall drum. The oldest structure is the church of Saint Grigor (11th century) with an adjoining 12th century gavit. The refectory built in 1248 by the architect Minas, is one of the best representatives of medieval Armenian architecture: a structurally daring concept which divides the space into a pair of communicating square halls, roofed with intersecting arches.